People

Picture for lopez-ruiz.1

Carolina López -Ruiz
Professor
614-688-4043
lopez-ruiz.1@osu.edu
  • Archaic Greek literature and...
  • Greek and Near Eastern interaction...

Picture for shuman.1

Amy Shuman
Professor
shuman.1@osu.edu
  • Critical theory
  • Jewish Folklore; Folklore studies
  • Disability studies

Picture for algar.1

Geoffrey Algar
PhD Candidate
algar.1@osu.edu

Picture for beyerchen.1

Alan Beyerchen
Professor Emeritus
beyerchen.1@osu.edu
  • Nineteenth and twentieth century...

Picture for biggerstaff.4

Michael Biggerstaff
PhD Candidate
614-292-9255
biggerstaff.4@osu.edu
  • Hebrew Bible
  • Ancient Near East
  • Prophecy in the Ancient World

photo of Lori Botnick Fireman

Lori Botnick Fireman
Program Coordinator
614-292-0700
fireman.2@osu.edu
  • Marketing
  • Public Relations
  • Event Planning

Picture for brenner.108

Naomi Brenner
Associate Professor
614-292-8953
brenner.108@osu.edu
  • Modern Hebrew Literature and...
  • Literary Multilingualism and...
  • Modern Yiddish Literature and...

Picture for costigan.2

Lucia Costigan
Professor
614-292-0833
costigan.2@osu.edu
  • Contemporary Brazilian and Latin...

Picture for fehervary.1

Helen Fehervary
Professor Emeritus
614-292-6985/688
fehervary.1@osu.edu
  • Modern German Jewish Literature
  • Critical Theory

Picture for fink.24

Carole Fink
Professor Emeritus
fink.24@osu.edu
  • European international history and...

Picture for fink.1

Howard P. Fink
Professor Emeritus
(614) 292-5791
fink.1@osu.edu
  • Legal Classics
  • Civil Procedure

Picture for fink.5

Steven Fink
Associate Professor; Associate...
614-292-6868
fink.5@osu.edu
  • American Studies
  • Jewish-American Literature
  • Nineteenth-century American...

Picture for fischer.5

Bernd Fischer
Professor
614-688-4163
fischer.5@osu.edu
  • National Imaginaries &...
  • German Literature, Culture, and...
  • German Jewish Thought around 1800

Picture for frank.152

Daniel Frank
Associate Professor
614-292-7494
frank.152@osu.edu
  • Medieval Jewish History and...
  • Judeo-Arabic

Picture for freeman.5

Evelyn Freeman
Professor Emeritus
614-292-2469
freeman.5@osu.edu
  • Jewish Children's Literature

Picture for freeman.587

Nicole Freeman
Phd Candidate
freeman.587@osu.edu
  • European History; Modern European...
  • Russian and East European History
  • Women's, Gender, and...

Picture for galron.1

Joseph Galron
Professor
(614) 292-3362
galron.1@osu.edu
  • Jewish Studies
  • Germanic Languages and Literatures
  • Yiddish

Picture for glaser.20

Steven Glaser
Professor and Area Head Keyboard
(614) 292-4615
glaser.20@osu.edu
  • Jewish Music
  • Piano Performance

photo of Matt Goldish

Matt Goldish
Professor
614-292-1358
goldish.1@osu.edu
  • Jewish History
  • Environment, Health, Technology,...
  • Religion in History

Picture for guy.60

Donna Guy
Professor Emeritus
guy.60@osu.edu
  • Latin American History

Picture for halpern.26

Sara Halpern
PhD Candidate
halpern.26@osu.edu
  • Modern European History
  • Jewish History
  • Women's, Gender, and...

Picture for hamblet.2

Monica Hamblet
Phd Candidate
hamblet.2@osu.edu

Picture for harrill.5

J. Albert Harrill
Professor
(614) 292-5404
harrill.5@osu.edu
  • Ancient History
  • Race, Ehtnicity, and Nation
  • Religion in History

Picture for hathaway.24

Jane Hathaway
Arts and Sciences Distinguished...
614-292-7138
hathaway.24@osu.edu
  • Islamic History
  • Comparative Empires
  • Religion in History

Picture for judd.18

Robin Judd
Associate Professor
614-292-9313
judd.18@osu.edu
  • Modern European History
  • Jewish History
  • Human Conflict, Peace, and...

Picture for kosstrin.1

Hannah Kosstrin
Assistant Professor
kosstrin.1@osu.edu
  • Gender studies in dance
  • Jewish studies in dance
  • Dance History

Picture for lishan.1

Stuart Lishan
Associate Professor
614-292-9133
lishan.1@osu.edu
  • Jewish-American Literature
  • Poetry and fiction writing
  • Creative nonfiction writing (...

Picture for meier.3

Sam Meier
Professor
614-292-5569
meier.3@osu.edu
  • Ancient Semitic languages and texts
  • Hebrew Bible
  • Comparative Semitic Linguistics

Picture for modan.1

Gabriella Modan
Associate Professor
614-292-0338
modan.1@osu.edu
  • Sociolinguistics
  • Ethnography
  • Discourse Analysis

Picture for bourgeois.31

Miriam R. Bourgeois
PhD Candidate
614-688-4259
bourgeois.31@osu.edu
  • Palestinian history and literature
  • Israeli and Zionist history and...
  • Historical & Modern Hebrew...

Picture for radzynski.1

Jan Radzynski
Professor
(614) 292-4654
radzynski.1@osu.edu
  • Composition
  • Jewish Music

Picture for reitter.4

Paul Reitter
Associate Professor
614-292-1401
reitter.4@osu.edu
  • Modern German Jewish Literature...
  • History of Higher Education
  • Modernism

Picture for rudavsky.1

Tamar Rudavsky
Professor; Melton Center Director
614-292-7914
rudavsky.1@osu.edu
  • Medieval Jewish and Scholastic...
  • Jewish and Islamic philosophy
  • Phenomenology and Existentialism

Picture for sefel.1

John Michael Sefel
PhD Candidate
sefel.1@osu.edu
  • Yiddish Theatre
  • Directing
  • Playwriting

Picture for shabad.1

Goldie Shabad
Professor Emeritus
shabad.1@osu.edu
  • East European Politics

Picture for shapiro.4

Stewart Shapiro
Professor
(614) 292-8198
shapiro.4@osu.edu
  • Jewish Philosophy
  • Philosophical Logic
  • Vagueness

Picture for silver.22

Suzanne Silver
Associate Professor
(614) 292-5072
silver.22@osu.edu
  • Jewish Art

Picture for stein.1

David Stein
Associate Professor
(614) 292-0988
stein.1@osu.edu
  • Adult Education

Picture for swartz.69

Michael Swartz
Professor
614-292-9967
swartz.69@osu.edu
  • Rabbinic studies
  • Magic and Ritual
  • Judaism and Late Antiquity

Picture for tanenbaum.8

Adena Tanenbaum
Associate Professor
614-292-7304
tanenbaum.8@osu.edu
  • Philosophical themes in Hebrew...
  • Medieval Jewish intellectual...

Picture for vanzile.3

Matthew Van Zile
PhD Candidate
vanzile.3@osu.edu
  • Rabbinic Exegesis
  • Hebrew Literature in Antiquity
  • Jewish Apocalyptic Traditions

Picture for weiner.141

Isaac Weiner
Associate Professor
weiner.141@osu.edu
  • Religion and sound
  • Material and sensory cultures of...
  • Religion and law

Picture for weisberg.1

Herb Weisberg
Professor Emeritus
(614) 688-4509
weisberg.1@osu.edu
  • American Politics
  • Jewish Voting